Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

The Office: Pam and Jim

I swear, I’d never heard the expression ‘shitting where you eat’ until a few months ago. Was it created then? Or was it always a thing? Either way, not only have I heard it a lot since that first time (what’s that called? The Baader-Meinhof phenomenon?), but I’ve also witnessed it happening around me.

For those who don’t know, this term is defined as the act of sleeping with someone you work with or have a professional relationship with.

I’m not going to name names, but the fact is that if I wanted to (which I don’t) I could name names. Plural. This seems to be a trend sweeping the nation, and they’re all perfectly okay with making sure everyone knows. Okay, maybe not everyone. But with the gossip mills these days, it’s hard to keep anything quiet.

That’s not my point, though. I don’t care about gossip.

I don’t understand the fascination with sleeping with someone you work with. I get that they’re a person that’s seen on a daily (almost daily, very often, whichever term works best) basis, and whom you probably get along with really well (seeing as you have to work together). I didn’t say I don’t understand how it happens. That I understand perfectly. You see them all the time and you get along with one another. And if an actual long-lasting relationship comes of it, then that’s great. I’m not talking about dating. I’m not even sure that’s covered under the term. Maybe it’s a more acceptable version. Whatever. Back to sex.

Just sex. Sleeping with a person (or almost sleeping with a person) that you work with. From a very logical standpoint, that just screams “THIS IS GOING TO GET AWKWARD!” And every time I’ve come across an instance of this in the past couple of months, that’s always been the outcome. Always. 100%. No failing. Or epic failing, depending on how you look at it. Eventually, someone is going to want out, and they’re going either try to act like nothing happened, or their not going to care that anything happened. And then guess what? The other person is going to realize they actually got emotionally attached, and the you know what is going to hit the fan.

I’m not going to pretend I know everything about this, seeing as I’ve never shit where I eat (and don’t plan to, I’m really not attracted to that), so I’m not going to argue. If you’ve done it and lived to tell the tale, then good for you. Just sharing some thoughts here.

