Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I didn’t get a chance this past weekend to get out and see a film (or do anything else that could be placed under the category of fun either), but I my insanely out of whack schedule has allowed me to have this wonderful (yeah, right) Monday off, so I took the opportunity to get my ass out of bed to go to the matinée. 

Every single person I told I was going to see Her asked me [some variation of], “Isn’t that the one where the guy falls in love with the computer?” Well, yes. Yes it is. Except that it’s so much more than that.

The film takes place in the near future in L.A. and stars Joaquin PhoenixAmy Adams, and Scarlett Johansson. After dealing with the ending of a long-term relationship, Theodore (a professional handwritten note-writer, because who actually writes handwritten notes anymore even now (sadly)) purchases a newly available AI (Artificial Intelligence) OS (Operating System) looking for a friend, and gains so much more. Throughout the film, a real relationship develops between Theodore and Samantha (the AI OS), as his close friend, Amy, goes through her own troubles.

Notice how I said ‘real.’ Everyone believes this to be a story about a guy who falls in love with a computer (it’s more like an app, but I’ll give the not so technologically advanced citizens a break). And it is. I’m not going to deny that. But because of that belief, everyone seems to believe that it’s a cheesy story that they don’t want to waste their time on. The fact that there were three other people in the theater today while I saw the film (granted, it was 2pm on a Monday) screams just that. And this film very easily could have crossed into that horrible land of cheese so many times. But it never did. It was a truly heartfelt story that was nothing but real. I’d venture to say that it was more real than some of the other actually cheesy chick flicks some people love so much.

I believe that was what I loved so much about it. It was very real. None of it was really sugar-coated. It just ran through the span of an actual relationship between a man and a woman. Granted, there were the crazy situations that only having a relationship with a computer program can bring up, but it never strayed from its real roots. Nothing that happened was absurdly outside of the world created within the film, and the film portrays a world very close to the one we know (just, you know, in the future).

I don’t think I could possibly love this film any more. Spike Jonze did a fantastic job writing and directing this film. It’s going on my favorites list for sure (yes, there’s a list).

One thing that did bother me was (and it’s a tiny thing, not even really relevant to the actual plot of the film, but I had a conversation about this with some friends just last week) that Amy Adams’ character’s name was Amy. Her character’s name was said maybe three times (that I noticed, could have been more or less, though I don’t think so), and every single time I was taken out of the story because I know the actress’s name is also Amy. It’s small and arguable stupid, but it still always bugs the shit out of me. He name wasn’t said very often. Her character doesn’t even have a last name. Why couldn’t they just fucking change the character’s name? They knew who was acting in the part, and the name isn’t that important. But there’s one point where Theodore and Amy are standing in the elevator and he exclaims her name before he hugs her, and I had to physically stop myself from going, “Huh?” For a moment, I thought it had been some kind of editing blooper fluke that somehow no one had managed to notice, and Joaquin had accidentally said her actual name instead of her character’s name, and then I realized that he hadn’t messed up. That was her character’s name. It may be stupid, and it may sound as though I’m grasping for something bad to say about the film. I don’t care about it being stupid, and I already said I loved the film. It’s just a pet peeve of mine. Get over it.

But seriously, drop what you’re doing, or wait until the weekend if you have to. Go see this film. Don’t wait for it to come out on Redbox or Netflix. See it on the big screen. It’s absolutely worth it.

Five stars.

